French Idioms

Avoir une mémoire de poisson rouge

  • to have a very bad memory

Un jeu d’enfant

  • a piece of cake (easy), child’s play

Se faire la belle

  • to flee, to escape

Il me court sur le haricot

  • he’s getting on my nerves

Pédaler dans la semoule

  • to go around in circles

L’habit ne fait pas le moine

  • the suit doesn’t fit the man

Être dans de beaux draps

  • to be in a right mess, to be up the creek without a paddle

En faire tout un fromage

  • to make a huge fuss

Ça ne casse pas trois pattes à un canard

  • nothing to write home about

Revenons à nos moutons

  • let’s get back to business, get back on track

Sorry again for missing last week. I’m working an essential job (for a doctor), and my days are long. I’ll try to do my best to schedule my posts!

Merci à vous !

Courtney

Leave a comment