Double Object Pronouns

Double object pronouns occur when using direct and indirect object pronouns with the same verb.

When a sentence contains two object pronouns, the pronouns take the following order:

me

te

le, l’

lui

se

before

la, l’

before

leur

before

y

before

en

nous

les

vous

Double object pronouns follow the same rules of position as single object pronouns:

  • Est-ce que ton père te prête la voiture ?
  • Does your father lend you the car?
  • Non, il ne me la prête jamais.
  • No, he never lends it to me.
  • Tu vas donner les cadeaux aux enfants ?
  • Are you going to give the gifts to the children?
  • Oui, je vais les leur donner.
  • Yes, I’m going to give them to them.
  • Sandrine a sa calculatrice ?
  • Does Sandrine have her calculator?
  • Oui, je la lui ai rendue hier.
  • Yes, I returned it to her yesterday.
  • Nos cousins ont besoin d’argent.
  • Our cousins need money.
  • Nous pouvons leur en envoyer.
  • We can send them some.
  • C’est une très belle avenue.
  • This is a very beautiful avenue.
  • Oui, nous nous y promenons souvent.
  • Yes, we often take a walk here.

There are some restrictions on the use of object pronouns. The object pronouns metenousvousluileur cannot follow a reflexive pronoun. The preposition à or de plus a stressed pronoun is used instead. En does not replace de plus animate noun when the de is part of a verbal expression, such as s’approcher de and avoir peur de.

  • Je me fie à ce dictionnaire → Je m’y fie
  • Je me fie à ce médecin → Je me fie à lui
  • J’ai peur des avions → J’en ai peur
  • J’ai peur de nos professeurs → J’ai peur d’eux
  • Nous nous approchons de la ville → Nous nous en approchons
  • Nous nous approchons de notre père → Nous nous approchons de lui

Object pronouns in affirmative commands:

In affirmative commands, object pronouns follow the verb and are joined to it with a hyphen. Me and te become moi and toi after the command.

  • Dites-nous ce qui est arrivé.
  • Tell us what happened.
  • Les journaux ? Mettez-les sur la table.
  • The newspapers? Put them on the table.
  • Aidez-moi !
  • Help me!

Although the final -s of the tu form is usually dropped in the imperative of -er verbs, it is restored (and pronounced) before y and en in affirmative commands.

  • J’ai envie de manger des pommes.
  • I feel like eating apples.
  • Achètes-en.
  • Buy some.
  • J’aime mes vacances en Bretagne.
  • I love my vacation in Brittany.
  • Restes-y plus longtemps.
  • Stay there longer.

When an affirmative command contains two object pronouns, the pronouns take the order shown in the chart below. Moi en becomes m’en and toi en becomes t’en in affirmative commands.

moi

toi

le, l’

lui

la, l’

before

nous

before

y

before

en

les

vous

leur

  • Je viens de recevoir mes photos.
  • I’ve just received my photos.
  • Montre-les-moi.
  • Show them to me.
  • Regarde, j’ai du jus de fruits.
  • Look, I have some fruit juice.
  • Donne-m’en. J’ai très soif.
  • Give me some. I’m very thirsty.
  • Je peux me servir de ton stylo ?
  • May I use your pen?
  • Volontiers. Sers-t’en.
  • Gladly. Use it.

In affirmative commands, y is replaced by  or là-bas after me/moite/toilela if y refers to a place.

  • Tu vas être à la bibliothèque ?
  • Are you going to the library?
  • Oui, attends-moi là-bas.
  • Yes, wait for me there.

I hope you are all having a great week!

À la prochaine,

Courtney

2 thoughts on “Double Object Pronouns

  1. Thanks, Courtney–I’ve been struggling with this like crazy lately! A question: what if you have both “me” and “te”? For example, if the characters in “Les liaisons dangereuses” ever used tu, they might say something like: “j’exige que tu me te livres”–“I require that you give yourself to me.” Or: “t’est pas content que je t’aime, tu exiges que je te me livre”–“you’re not satisfied with me loving you, you require that I give myself to you.” Do I have those pronouns ordered correctly?

    • You’re welcome!! No worries, I’m happy to help! You wouldn’t use “je te me”, but rather instead, you could say “je me livre à toi” for the example you gave.

Leave a Reply

