Lesson 28 – Conjunctive Personal Pronouns

Leçon 28 – Les Pronoms Conjonctifs

In my last post I had touched a bit on conjunctive personal pronouns. There are two types of personal pronouns : disjunctive and conjunctive. Conjunctive pronouns are the subject, object, or indirect object of a verb. Their placement is directly before the verb.

Conjunctive pronouns can act as the subject, direct object, or indirect object of a verb.

  • Il va arriver. – Il is the subject of the verb.
  • Je vous verrai ce soir. – Vous is the direct object of the verb.
  • Elle doit leur parler. – Leur is the indirect object of the verb (to them).

The form of the subject pronouns is different from that of the object pronoun in all persons except nous and vous. The forms of the direct & indirect object pronouns differ only in the third person singular and plural.

Subject

Direct Object

Indirect Object

je – I

me – me

me – to me

tu – you

te – you

te – to you

il – he/it

le – him/it

lui – to him/to it

elle – she/it

la – her/it

lui – to her/to it

nous – we

nous – us

nous – to us

vous – you

vous – you

vous – to you

ils – they

les – them

leur – to them

elles – they

les – them

leur – to them

*Remember that me, te, le, la before a verb beginning with a vowel, or a muted ‘h’, are contracted to m’, t’, l’.

**Also remember that indirect object pronoun leur (to them) never ends in -s. Leurs only occurs with the plural possessive adjective.


When referring to objects or abstract nouns, English uses the pronoun ‘it’, but in French, il or elle is used according to the gender of the noun.

  • Où est le livre? Il est sur la table.
  • Where is the book? It is on the table.
  • J’ai besoin de la voiture. Je la prendrai jusqu’à demain.
  • I need the car. I’ll take it until tomorrow.

If ‘it’ is the subject of être + article + noun, use the demonstrative pronoun ce.

  • Je travaille à Lille. C’est une belle ville.
  • I work in Lille. It‘s a beautiful city.

Conjunctive subject pronouns always precede the verb, except in the case of inversion/interrogative sentences.

  • Nous connaissons ton frère. – We know your brother.
  • Connaissez-vous mon frère? – Do you know my brother?

That is all for this lesson. If you would like for me to continue with pronoun posts, please let me know. Or if you have any other suggestions for future posts, I’m open to anything.

Have a great week!

Merci à vous!

Courtney

2 thoughts on “Lesson 28 – Conjunctive Personal Pronouns

  1. So “une” as in “c’est une belle ville” is an article? So are “un, une, des etc” are all articles? And the presence of an article between a form of être and a noun always dictates that Ce is used?
    Sorry Courtney, I can barely rememember my English grammar, let alone absorb the French when such terms are used.
    I know what subject, object, noun, verb, adverb & adjectives are. That’s about it, sorry!

    • Don’t be sorry! Learning another grammar for another language is daunting, not going to lie. And yes, those you asked about are articles. 🙂 And the answer to your last question is yes as well. Ce will always be followed by a conjugated third person form of être. For example, “ce suis” or “c’es” or “ce sommes” or “c’êtes” are never used because they don’t make sense… but always “c’est” or “ce sont” is correct. I hope I am not being more confusing! Please tell me if I am. 🙂

Leave a Reply

