Lesson 25 – Expressing Opinion

Expressing Opinion

In this lesson you will learn some different phrases to express opinion. The ease of learning and remembering these different ways to express this will become second nature once you have mastered the verbs within the phrases.

Expressions with verbs:

Croire – to believe

  • Je crois que… – I believe that…

Penser – to think

  • Je pense que… – I think that…

Trouver – to find

  • Je trouve que… – I find that…

Considérer – to consider, contemplate, ponder

  • Je considère que… – I consider that…

Estimer – to assess, estimate

  • J’estime que… – I estimate that…

Supposer – to supposed, presume, assume

  • Je suppose que… – I suppose/assume that…

Non-verb expressions:

J’ai l’impression que… – I have the impression that…

À mon avis… – In my opinion…

D’après moi… – According to me…

Pour moi… – For me…

Selon moi… – According to me…

En ce qui me concern… – In my case…

Pour ma part… – For my part…

Personnellement… – Personally…

Mon idée… – My idea…

Il me semble que… – It seems to me that…

À ce qu’il me semble… – It seems to me…

… c’est du moins mon opinion – … at least in my opinion


If there is anything I have missed, or a correction you want to share, please feel free to reach out to me. I am open to any and all suggestions.

Merci à vous !

Courtney

2 thoughts on “Lesson 25 – Expressing Opinion

  1. Those are very useful Courtney.
    My knowledge of verbs is pretty good, my tenses are improving, as is my French vocabulary. But it’s putting it together in a coherent sentence that I struggle with because I know that a literal translation won’t work in most scenarios.
    We have to converse regularly with French peopl about critical stuff! it’s not a case of just using the language on holiday, & I worry about saying something inappropriate or even offensive!

Leave a Reply

