Politeness

Hello readers!

I came across this article, which is rather surprising. It’s a couple of years old, but still quite relevant. A restaurant in Nice is charging customers a different price for the same item based on how polite it is asked for. I’ve actually never seen this in person, yet I was told that there was another restaurant in Paris that were doing the same thing.

If you ask for “Un café.” you will be charged 7€, which is insane!

If you ask for “Un café. s’il vous plaît.” you will be charged 4,25€. Still crazy since “please” was said.

BUT, if you say, “Bonjour, un café, s’il vous plaît.” you will only be charged 1,40€!

I am not saying this is true for every restaurant you go to in France, not at all, but the point I am trying to make with this article is that you should mind your manners no matter where you are.

I’m interested in hearing everyone’s thoughts on this.

See you Thursday!

Courtney

2 thoughts on “Politeness

  1. Yes, I think the French generally attach more importance to good manners.
    To me, this is no bad thing.

    I thought my own family were reasonably well mannered, but my eight year old grandson finds it strange that the elderly folk in our village expect to shake hands with him when they see him each summer!
    We always try to be polite in shops and restaurants in France; as my mother used to say “good manners cost nothing but bad manners cost everything”
    Maybe she was channelling the same vibe as in your example above!?

    • Your mother is right on the money! The people in your village sound like such lovely people! I’m from the States, so etiquette like that is kind of foreign (no offense to anyone). And I agree, the French have amazingly impeccable manners!

Leave a Reply

